Course Learning Report from Joel Sumare

Joel Somare, RA at Lale’enok, reports on his training last year in computer packages, funded under the SORALO internal scholarship program. 

At the beginning of March 2016, the SORALO scholarship program was introduced to help develop the capacity of our staff members. I applied because I was very interested in joining the Kenya professional study college to study computer packages.sumare_training_1

The packages that I studied included:

  1. Microsoft words
  2. Microsoft excel
  3. Microsoft power point
  4. Desktop publishing
  5. Internet email

Finally, I studied statistical data entry. Before the course started I was facing financial difficulties and therefore unable to pay my fees for the full study period. Based on my deprived financial condition, of which the whole expenses to my course it has cost me ksh 51,000/=. In the beginning of April I came to apply the SORALO scholarship program and I succeeded and was awarded ksh 50,000/=.

In the middle of April I came to join Kenya professional study college and started my classes for two weeks in every month, the other two weeks of the month I worked at Lale’enok doing my normal job as resource assessor in ecological department. The whole course took 3 months for me to complete my learning. The classes went well, although it’s not an easy task since I was doing this part-time, so it has required more time and energy to learn. In my fist day at school in classes I was worried about if I could manage to do all this classes in computer lab since most of my fellow student were not using part-time learning. The hardest part of the course was the statistical computing part, however I managed to complete it and received a certificate for the whole packages learnt.  The whole course has taken me 90 days to complete my 3 months starting in the middle of April 2016 and ended in the middle of September 2016.

The school has more facilities for learning at your own free time, I have been also interested by interacting with other students who are learning different coursers and sharing more ideas in the computer lab or practicing shooting video at the school video room.

This has helped with my computer skills to be used in the Lale’enok office for data entry, report writing and blog posts.